Public Document Pack

Thursday, 25 May 2023

FOREST OF DEAN DISTRICT COUNCIL

FULL COUNCIL

Minutes of a meeting of the Full Council held in the Council Offices, Coleford on Thursday, 25 May 2023 at 7.00 pm.

Present

Chairman Councillor Di Martin

Vice Chairman Councillor Simon Phelps

Councillors James Bevan, Matt Bishop, Alison Bruce, Philip Burford, Richard Burton, Jackie Dale, Clive Elsmore, Jamie Elsmore, Nick Evans, John Francis, Jackie Fraser, Julia Gooch, Tim Gwilliam, Julie Hudson, Harry Ives, Gillian Kilmurray, Patrick Kyne, Johnathan Lane, Beth Llewellyn, Andrew McDermid, Chris McFarling, Andy Moore, Gill Moseley, Bernie O'Neill, Sid Phelps, Alan Preest, Trevor Roach, Jacob Sanders, Shaun Stammers, Mark Topping, Dave Tradgett, Mark Turner, David Wheeler, Ian Whitburn and Clayton Williams

Officers

Andrew Grant, Head of Paid Service Julie Jones, Democratic Services Manager Andrew Knott, Chief Finance (s151) Officer Sian Roxborough, Monitoring Officer Andrew Brown Business Manager

I. CHAIR OF THE COUNCIL

The Head of Paid Service welcomed everyone to the meeting and invited nominations for the Chair of the Council for the 2023-2024 civic year.

Councillor Shaun Stammers nominated Councillor Di Martin. Councillor Jackie Dale seconded the nomination.

Agreed by assent.

Resolved: that Councillor Di Martin be appointed to the office of Char of the Council for the civic year 2023-2024.

The Chair, Councillor Di Martin made her declaration of acceptance of office.

2. VICE CHAIR OF THE COUNCIL

The Chair invited nominations for the Vice chair of the Council for the civic year 2023-2024.

Councillor Philip Burford nominated Councillor Simon Phelps. Councillor David Wheeler seconded.

Agreed by assent.

Resolved: that Councillor Simon Phelps be appointed Vice Chair of the Council for the 2023-2024 civic year.

The Vice Chair, Councillor Simon Phelps made his declaration of acceptance of office.

3. **APOLOGIES**

Apologies were received from Councillor Adrian Birch.

4. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest.

5. MINUTES

The minutes of the Full Council meeting held on Thursday 20 April 2023 were signed as an accurate record.

Councillor David Wheeler proposed. Councillor Shaun Stammers seconded.

Agreed by assent.

- 2 –

These minutes are subject to approval at the next meeting

6. CHAIR'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

Following the District Elections on the 4 May 2023, the Chair welcomed 16 new members of the Council and welcomed back re-elected members.

The Chair announced that Armed Forces Day would be on 24 June 2023.

7. LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

The Chair invited nominations for the Leader of the Council.

Councillor Chris McFarling nominated Mark Topping. Councillor David Wheeler seconded.

Resolved: that Councillor Mark Topping be appointed to the office of Leader of the Council for the four year term of the Council until 2027.

Voting was as follows:

For (26) Councillors Di Martin, Clive Elsmore, Ian Whitburn, John Francis, Philip Burford, Adrian McDermid, Trevor Roach, Alison Bruce, Beth Llewellyn, Dave Tradgett, Richard Burton, Johnathan Lane, Patrick Kyne, Matt Bishop, Shaun Stammers, Jackie Fraser, Andy Moore, David Wheeler, Jackie Dale, Mark Topping, Sid Phelps, Chris McFarling, Gill Moseley, Julie Hudson, Gillian Kilmurray, Simon Phelps.

Abstain (0)

Against (0)

Total (26)

8. **RETURNING OFFICER'S REPORT**

The Returning Officer referred to report LD.710 and the results of the District Council election held on 4 May 2023. The average turnout for the district elections was 33.64 %, the highest turnout was 45.61 % in the St Briavels ward.

The Council had received all 38 declarations of acceptance of office.

Resolved; that Council noted the report.

These minutes are subject to approval at the next meeting

9. POLITICAL COMPOSITION OF THE COUNCIL AND FORMATION OF POLITICAL GROUPS

The Head of Paid Service confirmed that all formal notifications had now been received as outlined in report LD.711. Annex A had been updated and reissued to members at the meeting due to changes to the list published in the agenda.

Resolved; that Council noted the report.

10. COUNCILLOR APPOINTMENTS

The Head of Paid Service referred to report LD.712. This Report sets out those matters reserved to Council as its Annual Meeting:

- To establish the allocation of seats to political groups based on proportionality and to agree arrangements for making the necessary adjustments to proportionality based appointments to individual committees.
- To make appointments to committees and other council bodies for the Civic Year 2023/24.
- To make appointments to the positons of Chairs and Vice Chairs of committees for the Civic Year 2023/24

Councillor Philip Burford announced the following amendments;

- 1) Licensing Committee remove Councillor Ian Whitburn and add councillor James Bevan
- 2) Constitution Working Group add Councillor James Bevan
- 3) Member Development Group add Councillor Clive Elsmore

Councillor Gill Moseley Announced the following amendment

 Member Development Group – Remove Councillor Gill Moseley and add Councillor Julie Hudson.

Councillor Alan Preest announced he would be replacing Councillor Harry Ives on the Member Development Group.

Resolved: that Council,

a) Agree that, in accordance with Section 15 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, the Council shall continue to apply the political balance provisions under the Act;

b) Appoint Councillors to serve on the Council's Committees and other groups as set out in Annex A for a term of office expiring at the next Annual Meeting of the Council; c) Appoint Chairs and Vice Chairs for the Council's Committees for the Civic Year, 2023/24 by asking members of each Committee to stand and elect their Chair and Vice Chair.

Councillor Mark Topping was appointed the Chair and Councillor Philip Burford as the Vice-Chair of The Appointments Committee.

Councillor Matt Bishop was appointed the Chair and Councillor Clive Elsmore as the Vice-Chair of the Audit Committee.

Councillor David Wheeler was appointed the Chair and Councillor Gill Moseley as the Vice-Chair of the Development Management Committee

Councillor Jackie Dale was appointed Chair and Councillor Patrick Kyne as the Vice-Chair of the Licensing committee.

Councillor Philip Burford was appointed the Chair and Councillor Nick Evans as the Vice Chair of the Strategic Overview and Scrutiny Committee.

The appointments for the Chair and Vice-Chair of the Constitution working group and the Member Development Group will be made at the first meeting of these groups.

The Chair recommended that the appointments to community organisations, partnerships and local authority bodies for the four year term of the Council until 2027, be deferred until an urgent group leader's meeting had taken place, so names could be put forward for those that are not Cabinet decisions. It would then come back to Full Council in July to be ratified.

The Head of Paid Service suggested that a brief summary the commitment, scope and purpose for the positions should be provided, so a decision can be reached at the group leaders meeting.

Agreed by assent.

II. FUTURE MEETINGS

All meetings commence at 7.00pm

Thursday 20 July 2023 Thursday 19 October 2023 Thursday 14 December 2023 The meeting ended at 7.54 pm

Minutes prepared by Democratic Services Phone: 01594 812624 Email: democratic.services@fdean.gov.uk